
 

 

 

 

 

Test your knowledge 

of the rules 
 

 

 

QUESTION  #1 – True or False: The hands are part of the bat. 

  

QUESTION  #2 – True or False: If a player holds the ball for two seconds before dropping it 

then it is considered a catch. 

  

QUESTION  #3 – True or False: If a catch is made on the outfield grass, it cannot be 

considered an Infield Fly. 

   

QUESTION  #4 – True or False: If the batter-runner turns left after crossing first – he can be 

tug out. 

  

QUESTION  #5 – True or False: The ball is called dead on a foul tip. 

 

QUESTION  #6 – True or False: A tie goes to the runner. 

  

QUESTION  #7 – True or False: On a throw to home if the catcher is blocking the base path 

before he catches the ball it is considered interference. 

   

QUESTION  #8 – True or False: A batter who bats out of order should be called out. 

  

QUESTION  #9 – True or False: A batter cannot be called out for interference with the 

catcher if he/she stays in the batter’s box. 

  

QUESTION  #10 – If the batter backs out of the box as the pitch is coming to the plate it’s an 

automatic strike. 

  

QUESTION  #11 – True or False: The pitch hit the ground before the batter hit it.  The ball is 

dead.. 

  

QUESTION  #12 – True or False: The base coach touches the runner the runner can be called 

out. 

  

QUESTION  #13 – True or False: If the batter’s foot is outside the box when he/she hits the 

ball then he/she is out. 

  

QUESTION  #14 – True or False: The batted ball hit the plate first, that’s a foul ball.. 

 

QUESTION  #15 – True or False: Holding the bat over the plate constitutes an attempt to 

bunt the ball. 

 

See Page 52 for the correct answers.  

  



  

Answers to questions from Page 42 
 

ANSWER #1 – false, if a batter is hit on the hands while swinging at a pitch, or while his hands are in the strike 

zone, it is a strike.  Otherwise, he is a hit batter and he gets first base.  In all cases the ball is dead and no runners 

may advance.  See Rule 2.00 BALL, PERSON, STRIKE (e), (f), TOUCH, also Rule 6.08(b).  THE HANDS 

ARE PART OF THE PERSON. 

ANSWER #2 – false, the length of time the ball is held has nothing to do with the determination of a catch.  The 

release of the ball must be VOLUNTARY AND INTENTIONAL.  See Rule 2.00 CATCH.  The fielder must 

prove that he had COMPLETE CONTROL of the ball before releasing it. 

 ANSWER #3 – false, an infield fly is a judgment call.  It is based on whether the ball can be caught with 

ORDINARY effort.  See Rule 2.00 INFIELD FLY. 

ANSWER #4 – false, the runner is out only if the umpire judges that he made an ATTEMPT to go to 

second.  No place in the rules does it say that a runner must turn to the right after crossing first base.  See Rule 

7.08(c) EXCEPTION and Rule 7.10(c). 

ANSWER #5 – false, a foul tip is a ball that goes SHARP AND DIRECT from the bat to the catcher’s glove 

AND IS CAUGHT.  If it IS caught, it is a STRIKE and the ball is alive.  If it is not caught, it is a foul ball and 

the ball is dead.  See Rule 2.00 FOUL TIP. 

ANSWER #6 – false, there is no such thing as a “tie” related to a base runner getting to base.  All forced plays at 

bases are judgment calls by the umpire.  No place in the rules does such a statement exist. 

ANSWER #7 – false, when the defense blocks the base (plate) or base line AND DOES NOT HAVE 

POSSESSION OF THE BALL, the call is OBSTRUCTION, not interference. See Rule 2.00 

OBSTRUCTION.  Also see Rule 7.06(a) and (b). 

ANSWER #8 – false, after the incorrect batter completes his at-bat and an appeal is made, the PROPER batter 

(the one who should have batted) is out.  The improper batter (the one who did bat) is removed from base and any 

advance made by the runners because of his batted ball is nullified.  The next batter due up is the one who 

FOLLOWS the proper batter.  See Rule 6.07. 

ANSWER #9 – false, this is a judgment call.  If the batter swings at a pitch and is off-balance and unavoidably 

interferes with the catcher, he should not be called out.  If he had just let a pitch go and had an opportunity to 

avoid the catcher’s play, but didn’t, he interfered.  See Rule 2.00 INTERFERENCE and Rule 6.06(c). 

ANSWER #10 – false, if the batter is in the box and steps out during delivery of the pitch, the umpire will call 

“Ball” or “Strike” as the case may be.  If the offense is stalling and the batter refuses to get in the batter’s box, 

then the umpire shall call a strike on the batter without the need for a pitch to be delivered.  The ball is dead and 

no runners may advance.  See Rules 6.02(b) & (c). 

ANSWER #11 – false, Little League rules state that a pitch is “a ball delivered to the batter by the pitcher.” 

Nowhere do the rules say anything about how the pitch must be delivered. If a pitch touches the ground before 

entering the strike zone and is not swung at, it is a “ball.”  If the pitch bounces up and hits the batter, the batter is 

awarded first.  If the pitch is hit, it is ruled like a normal pitch.  See Rule 2.00 IN FLIGHT, PITCH and Rule 5.03. 

ANSWER #12 – true, again, this is a judgment call by the umpire.  If the coach obviously and intentionally 

physically stops a runner or helps him up after the runner has fallen, the runner is out.  However, merely touching 

him or making an incidental touch as the runner is stopping are not grounds for an out call.  See Rule 7.09(i). 

ANSWER #13 – true, a batter is out when he makes contact with a pitch and his foot is ENTIRELY outside the 

lines of the batter’s box AND TOUCHING THE GROUND.  He is out on either a fair or foul ball and the ball 

is dead.  He is NOT out if he swings and misses or if he does not swing.  See Rule 2.00 ILLEGALLY BATTED 

BALL and Rule 6.06(a). 

ANSWER #14 – false, home plate is positioned BETWEEN the first and third base foul lines – it is in FAIR 

territory.  Therefore, a ball that hits it, or comes to rest upon it, is a fair ball.  Also, all bases are in fair 

territory.  Therefore, any batted ball that touches a base is considered a fair ball, regardless of where it bounces 

after touching the base.  See Rule 2.00 FAIR BALL and FAIR TERRITORY 

ANSWER #15 – false, to constitute a bunt, the ball must be INTENTIONALLY met with the bat.  The mere 

fact of holding the bat across the plate DOES NOT constitute a bunt attempt.  See Rule 2.00 BUNT. 

 


