NASOA General Meeting – February 23, 2022

Meeting opened at 18:03 CDT at Merrimack Soccer Complex. The meeting was led by President Tim Holt.

- 1. Motion was made and seconded to accept the minutes from the February 14, 2022 meeting as presented. Approved.
- 2. A few upcoming USSF tournaments were mentioned, the Red Diamond in Birmingham (Mar 5-7, 11-13) and the Horizon Cup in Huntsville (Mar. 26-27). However Andy mentioned that there were also some high school tournaments on those weekends as well.
- 3. Kris Baily was in attendance and presented Mohamed and TJ Mcgettigan with their USSF Regional Referee badges. Also, Cedric Thomas (not present) was recognized with a Referee Emeritus badge. Celeste Roberts was recognized for being invited to the Dallas Cup.
- 4. One of the topics of discussion were the 4 steps for an ejection report. 1) Gather the information and facts about the ejection with the referee crew. 2) Notify Tim/Andy about it. 3) Create a draft report to be sent to Tim/Andy. 4) Once approved, submit the actual report to the AHSAA website and send a courtesy copy to Cedric Thomas.
- 5. Kris Baily gave an instructive discussion on Red Card prevention (i.e. procedures and actions that could be used to prevent possible escalation of an ejection that might otherwise happen) and Mass Confrontation Management.
- 6. Andy had 2 points that he wanted to emphasize. 1) A question came up as to whether a Wilson ball is required for all games of only for Area games as mentioned in the AHSAA Spring Sports book. Andy was going to try to find the answer. 2) With respect to adverse weather. If lightning/thunder is seen/heard there is a 30 min. delay. It is up to the schools to determine how long they wish to continue with further attempts to complete a game. Upon resumption of the game, the referees' determine whether the field is playable.

Motion to adjourn made and seconded. Meeting adjourned at 19:05.

Attendees:

Allen Borgen Jeremy Glombowski Tim Holt Tracy Reynolds Dan Cutshall Darrell Harris TJ McGettigan Celeste Roberts Andy Dye Kim Hensley Claudiu Muntele Douglas Vechinski