Maine district three was formed in 1958 and covered all Little League baseball & softball played in Aroostook, Penobscot, Piscataquis, Hancock and Washington counties. 

In 1970 district seven (Aroostook & northern Penobscot counties) was formed. In 1974 district seven folded and the area returned to being part of district three. 

In 2001 district one (Hancock & Washington counties) was formed and continues to operate as their own district. 

In 2002 Mansfield Stadium in Bangor Maine was selected at the host site for the Senior League World Series (15-16 year old division of Little League Baseball). 

District three continues to be the largest geographical district east of the Mississippi.

Local Sponsors